Winter in Arizona brings amazing temperatures to enjoy the outdoors. Along with Golf, hiking, biking, and sitting out on the patio. Arizona residents take the chance to do a little fair weather clean up. Arizona winters also bring a false sense of security in burning off debris in your yard. Pinal County has opened up the seasonal burn permit process and that will mean a proliferation of open burns.
There are a few steps that anyone wishing to conduct a seasonal burn must take in order to burn in accordance with the county code.
- Step 1- Obtain a burn permit from your local county government. In this area; Pinal County (see below for locations). The fees will be between $2.00 to $5.00 for Residential and $5.00 to $35.00 for Commercial.
- Step 2- Contact your local Fire Department to advise of your intent to burn and to advise dispatch of the Location of the burn.
- Step 3 – Check the Pinal County Department of Air Quality on the day of your burn to may sure it is not a “NO BURN DAY”
- Step 4 – Make sure you are burning between the hours of 9 am and 4:30pm.
Florence Pinal County Complex - Main Office
31 N Pinal St., Bldg F
PO Box 987 Florence, AZ 85132 Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Apache Junction County Complex
575 N Idaho Rd Suite 800
Monday (8:30-3:30) & Thursday (8:30-12:30)
Safety Required by Permit
- Wind speed while burning: Greater than 5 miles per hour (m.p.h.) but less than 15 m.p.h.
- The fire must be constantly attended and the burn permit must be on-site during burning.
- All burning must be completed during the allowable burn times.
- Each open burn must not be started with ignition sources that cause black smoke.
- The burn pit, pile, or approved waste burner must be at least 50 feet from any dwelling unit.
- Open burning shall be conducted only during atmospheric conditions which:
- Prevent dispersion of smoke into populated areas.
- Prevent visibility impairment on traveled roads or at airports.
- Do not create a public nuisance or adversely affect public safety.
- Do not cause uncontrollable spreading of the fire.
- Reckless burning is prohibited by Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) §13-1706.
Violations of Permits
- Failure to comply with burn permit conditions: Civil penalties up to $10,000.00 per day
- Reckless burning under A.R.S. §13-1706: Class 1 or 2 Misdemeanor or Class 3 Felony
Prohibited burn items
Burning Any Of The Following is Prohibited - Seasonal Burned: Any garbage from the processing, storage, service, or consumption of food, household waste, chemically treated wood, lead painted wood, linoleum flooring, composite countertops, tires, explosives, ammunition, oleanders, asphalt shingles, tar paper, plastic and rubber products, household chemical bottles, plastic grocery and retail bags, waste petroleum products (crankcase oil, transmission oil, oil filters, transformer oils) asbestos, batteries, anti-freeze, aerosol spray cans, electrical wire insulation, thermal insulation, polyester products, hazardous waste products (paints, pesticides, cleaners, solvents, stains, varnishes and other flammable liquids), plastic pesticide containers or bags, and hazardous material containers that contained lead, cadmium, mercury, or arsenic compounds.
Rural Metro Fire Department encourages everyone who conducts an open burn to make sure they take all precaution to avoid unintended exposure to surrounding buildings and property.
In the event your open burn grows beyond your ability to safely contain it:
- Call 911 immediately.
- Evacuate yourself, children and pets to a safe location. Always watch children around an open fire, never leave children alone with access to an open burn area.
- Wearing a breathing mask, available at most home improvement stores, can help avoid respiratory issues related to the smoke created by an open burn.
- Never breath the smoke given off by not organic material, as it can cause serious health issues.
Rural Metro Fire Department offers membership Fire and Emergency medical care to all unincorporated residents of San Tan Valley, Queen Creek, and Florence. Rural Metro Fire Department offers easy payment options and by contacting Rural Metro and letting them know that you saw this on SanTanValley.com, you can qualify for up to 25% off your first year of service**. Call today to activate your membership. Rural Metro Fire Department; Customer Service 480 -627-6200 or 800-645-3360 or Ruralmetro.com.BLOG COMMENTS POWERED BY DISQUS